Fuzzy Navel

So, I’m expanding my skill set.  At the restaurant I have started training to be a bartender.  Can you see me slinging beers and shaking up martinis?!  Banter and booze. Yup, I can see it, too.  So far, it’s really fun.  I finished the first stage of training, and now I’m in the behind the scenes bar doing drinks for the main dining room every Sunday night until we coordinate a training schedule for the main bar.  I haven’t mastered shooters or all the less frequently ordered mixers, but I understand the standard pours and I have all the basics for Artie’s favorites fairly mastered like martinis, cosmos, mojitos, and margaritas.  I think I’m at the same stage with Gimme Dem where I’ve established my foundation of strong recipes and my method of service, and  now, it’s time to expand!!  I want more!  I can do large scale production, I can deal with allergies, and I can make you smile.  Now it’s time to take it to the next level!  And maybe add a shot or two to brighten up our spirits.

About a month and a half ago, I registered for the National Capital Area Cake Show‘s Cupcake Cocktail hour tasting and competition.  I’m working on a new Vegan Fuzzy Navel Cupcake (thank you barnivore!) just for the event and I can’t wait to see what else is out  there!  Orange you glad!?!?!  Bwah!    I hope you’ll consider coming out to support your favorite vegan cupcakes!!!!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    danelle said,

    That is so cool you are learning to bar tend! ahhh I’ve always wanted to do it. 🙂 It’s nice to have different skills like that under your belt. Especially in this economy. Aw.. Sounds like alot of fun!

  2. 3

    […] Challenge which Gimme Dem proudly participated in with what my sister like to call the “Plump and Juicy Fuzzy Navel Cupcake.”  It was long week with the addition of bar training and spending time tweaking my […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment